Vocal Instant Composition

Visit from the US

Exploring Improvisation – Methods and Music

Hello, everyone! My name is Carole Ott and I am a professor of choral music at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG). My research is focused on free improvisation in the choral setting and I am looking forward to visiting Amsterdam to participate in the workshop Rhythm and Time(ing) next weekend as well as observe rehearsals for the upcoming Echo: Labyrinth performance.

I plan to document The Genetic Choir’s unique methods through audio and video recording and would love to talk with choir members about their experiences. A new blog of my experiences and interest in improvisation can be found here: http://exploringimprovisation.blogspot.com/.

Through improvising with my choirs at UNCG, I have experienced the power of creating music from nothing (or from a collective willingness to allow the music to happen!) and I can’t wait to explore more!

Comments are closed.