Vocal Instant Composition

Workshops next season

The planning for next season is a good way on it’s way, and for those of you who would still like to make use of the ‘pioneer’-scheme (far lower workshop fee in exchange for commitment) – NOW is the time to let us know.

Pioneers pay 75,- instead of 110,- for a weekend workshop. Pioneer planning will close this week.

Dates can still be moved if the group of workshop-pioneers decides so.

7 and 8 September  –  Genetic Choir workshop

All aspects of Genetic Choir vocal improvisation technique will pass by this weekend. If participants have wishes for deepening a certain aspect, there will be room for that as well.  (more info, click here)
     

7 and 8 December – The edge of language

A workshop about the moments when sound becomes language and vice versa. This is the third Genetic Choir research into ‘text/words’, now with more specific focus on the exciting no-mans-land between the abstraction of music and the literal meaning of words. (more info on this theme, click here)
     

15 and 16 February – Resonance and Sound-Textures

Explore and enrich your own voice and the polyphony of voices by opening your ears to the multi-layered richness of sound: over-tones, sound-colours, resonance.  (more info on this theme, click here)

8 and 9 March – The well-known-song

Improvising with known music – whole songs or just fragments of a well-known-tune: How do you do it as an improvisation singer? How to make it juicy and exciting, or to keep it simple and close to the original… And how do you deal with it in a group of improvisers, with so many tastes and wishes? (more info on this theme, click here)

Other workshop themes that have proven exciting to investigate and which can be fitted in a workshop of one or several days:

    
      
                    
Give yourself up via the Contact page

2 responses

  1. ren-weg

    Beste Thomas, Omdat mijn vorige berichten via de link op de site niet bij je aankwamen doe ik het maar even zo, via antwoord op de nieuwsbrief.

    1) Ik wil erg graag kennis maken met the Genetic Choir en heb alle 4 de workshops in mijn agenda gezet. Ik wil graag na de eerste workshop bepalen of het iets voor mij is en of ik alle workshops ga volgen. Ben ik dan een pioneer??

    2) Hoe werkt het aanmelden verder? Kan ik me hierbij aanmelden voor de workshops in september – november – januari – maart? Moet ik al iets betalen?

    3) En waar vinden de workshops plaats in Amsterdam?

    Met vriendelijke groet, Ingrid Renirie Bernhardsingel 12 4811 SK Breda ren-weg@freeler.nl 06 52 59 64 70

    July 3, 2013 at 10:23

  2. Beste Ingrid,

    leuk dat je reageert en mee wil doen.

    over 1) Natuurlijk kun je de eerste workshop afwachten om te zeggen of je de andere 3 wil doen. In dit geval ben je dan pionier voor de eerste, en niet voor de volgende, want als pionier zeg je ‘ik schrijf me nu in en kom zeker’ (in ruil voor die zekerheid die je mij geeft krijg je de pionierskorting). Maar ik zal je op de lijst zetten als ‘gewone deelnemer’ voor de andere workshops, zo dat in ieder geval je plek verzekerd is, mocht je na 8 september de smaak te pakken hebben 🙂

    over 2) Ik zal je even een e-mail schrijven met verdere instructies over aanmelden/betalen. Pas als je betaald is de aanmelding echt compleet.

    over 3) Meestal op het Java-eiland in een hele leuke studio, maar dat kan ook eens anders zijn, afhankelijk van de beschikbaarheid. Ik zal de deelnemers per workshop op tijd informeren.

    groetjes en tot mails,
    Thomas

    July 4, 2013 at 18:12